‘The Adventurous Four Trapped!’ (The Adventurous Four #3) by Enid Blyton

Author: Enid Blyton

First Published: 1952/1998 (as ‘The Adventurous Four Omnibus!’ – Short Story)

Genre: Fiction; Children’s; Adventure; Mystery

Series: The Adventurous Four

Number in Series: 3

Notable Fact: Originally published in 1952 as a short-story, this was expanded upon by Clive Dickinson into a full-fledged book and re-published in 1998.



‘Robin Hood of Sherwood Forest’ by Ann McGovern

Author: Ann McGovern

First Published: 1968

Genre: Fiction; Adventure

Robin Hood of Sherwood Forest is a collection of ten adventures of the legendary outlaw Robin Hood. This is Ann McGovern’s retelling of the classic tale of the jolly outlaw who, along with his band of followers – the Merry Men, would rob from the rich to give to the poor.

Robin Hood of Sherwood Forest

‘20000 Leagues Under the Sea’ by Jules Verne

20000 Leagues Under the Sea is a classic science fiction novel by French writer Jules Verne published in 1870.

The book was highly acclaimed when released and still is now; it is regarded as one of the premiere adventure novels and one of Verne’s greatest works, along with Around the World in Eighty Days and Journey to the Centre of the Earth.

20000 Leagues.png

‘Treasure Island’ by Robert Louis Stevenson

Treasure Island is an adventure novel by Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson, narrating a tale of “buccaneers and buried gold”.

It is one of the most frequently dramatised of all novels. It was originally serialised in the children’s magazine Young Folks between 1881 through 1882 under the title Treasure Island, or the mutiny of the Hispaniola, credited to the pseudonym “Captain George North”. It was first published as a book on 14 November 1883