‘The Maze Runner’ (The Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner

Author: James Dashner

First Published: 2009

Genre: Fiction; Young Adult; Science Fiction

Series: The Maze Runner

Number in Series: 1


Rick Riordan to help promote an Indian Mythology Novel

Rick Riordan recently announced that he’s formed an imprint with his publisher, Disney, called Rick Riordan Presents, to promote mythology inspired literature.

While he doesn’t plan to write a book based on Indian mythology himself, one of the authors he’s signed up already has. Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshni Chokshi is due to release in April 2018. Roshni Chokshi, is already a New York Times Bestseller, having written two fantasy novels inspired by Indian mythology and history.

The other two books his imprint plans to promote are Storm Runner by Jennifer Cervantes and Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee based on Mayan and Korean Mythology respectively.

The book is described as follows: “When twelve-year-old Aru Shah lights a lamp in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture in order to impress her friends, she unwittingly frees the Sleeper, an ancient demon whose duty it is to awaken the God of Destruction and bring an end to Time. The only way to stop the demon is to find the reincarnations of the five legendary Pandava brothers, protagonists of the Hindu epic poem, the Mahabharata.”

Rick Riordan read a tiny snippet from the book. You can find it here.

‘The Giver’ by Lois Lowry

The Giver is a 1993 American young adult dystopian novel by Lois Lowry.

The Giver won the 1994 Newbery Medal and has sold more than 10 million copies worldwide. In Australia, Canada, and the United States, it is on many middle school reading lists, but it is also frequently challenged and it ranked number 11 on the American Library Association list of the most challenged books of the 1990s. A 2012 survey based in the U.S. designated it the fourth-best children’s novel of all time.

In 2014, a film adaptation was released, starring Jeff Bridges, Meryl Streep and Brenton Thwaites.


‘Brisingr’ (Inheritance Cycle #3) by Christopher Paolini

Brisingr is the third novel in the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. It was released on September 20, 2008.

Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, the book sold 550,000 copies on its first day of sale, a record for a Random House children’s book. The novel debuted at number one on USA Today’s top 150 bestsellers list.


‘Eragon’ (Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher Paolini

Eragon is the first novel in the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. After self-publishing, Paolini spent a year traveling around the United States promoting the novel. By chance, the book was discovered by Carl Hiaasen, who got it re-published by Alfred A. Knopf. The re-published version was released on August 26, 2003.

Eragon was the third-best-selling children’s hardback book of 2003, and the second-best-selling paperback of 2005. It placed on the New York Times Children’s Books Best Seller list for 121 weeks and was adapted as a feature film of the same name that was released on December 15, 2006.